Faculty Senate Grievance Commission Annual Report (May 2016)

The Faculty Senate Grievance Commission of the University of Pennsylvania is an independent committee consisting of three faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. This commission is available to members of the Penn faculty and academic support who allege they have been subject to action that is contrary to the University procedures, policies, and/or regulations, that is discriminatory, or that is arbitrary. During the Academic Year 2015-2016, the commission was composed of Steven Sondheimer (Medicine, Past Chair), Parvati Ramchandani, (Medicine, Chair) and Mitch Marcus (Computer and Information Science, Chair-Elect).

During the year, the commission reviewed a grievance by a faculty member regarding denial of tenure. A letter of inquiry about the matter was sent to the past chair in April 2015 but the formal grievance was filed with the current Chair only in September 2015.

The commission pursued additional information from the grievant's department and met with multiple faculty leaders in the grievant's department on separate occasions as well as university leadership and representatives from the Vice-Provost's office. The commission as a whole reviewed the case in detail, each member reaching an independent conclusion about the merits. Multiple meetings of the entire commission were held, where all aspects of the case were carefully considered, with thoughtful consideration of the impact of the commission's deliberations on the faculty member. Additional discussion was held with representatives from the Ombudman's office as well. After these multiple meetings, the commission reached a consensus that the case did not have enough merit to warrant forwarding to a hearing.

Respectfully submitted,

Parvati Ramchandani, MD (Grievance Commission Chair, 2015-2016)