Faculty Senate Grievance Commission Annual Report (2017)

The Faculty Senate Grievance Commission of the University of Pennsylvania is an independent committee consisting of three faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. This commission is available to members of the Penn faculty and academic support who allege they have been subject to action that is contrary to the University procedures, policies, and/or regulations, that is discriminatory, or that is arbitrary. During Academic Year 2016-17, the commission was composed of Parvati Ramchandani (PSOM/Medicine, Past Chair), Mitchell Marcus (SEAS/Computer and Information Science, Chair), and James Palmer (PSOM/Otorhinolaryngology, Chair-Elect).

During the year, the commission was approached by three members of the faculty, two of whom had been denied tenure, and one of whom, a part-time clinical faculty member, had been terminated after a professionalism hearing.

In all cases, the individual had several initial discussions with the Chair of the Commission about the grievance process, the circumstances of the case, discussions about clarifying the issues that might be grounds for a grievance, and discussions about the procedures for submitting a formal grievance letter. In one tenure case, the faculty member decided not to pursue a formal grievance after discussion. In the second tenure case, the faculty member has submitted a formal grievance which will remain outstanding for further consideration in the upcoming year. In the final case, the faculty member filed a formal grievance. The Commission is pursuing additional information from the grievant's school and has not yet reached a determination of whether the case should result in a hearing panel.

Respectfully submitted,

Mitchell Marcus (Grievance Commission Chair, 2016-2017)