## Report of the Faculty Grievance Commission 2018

The Faculty Senate Grievance Commission of the University of Pennsylvania is an independent committee consisting of three faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. This commission is available to members of the Penn faculty and academic support who allege they have been subject to action that is contrary to the University procedures, policies, and/or regulations, that is discriminatory, or that is arbitrary. During Academic Year 2017-18, the commission was composed of Mitchell Marcus (SEAS/Computer and Information Science, Past Chair) James Palmer (PSOM/Otorhinolaryngology, Chair), and Martha Farah (SAS/Psychology, Chair-Elect).

During the year, the commission was approached by seven members of the faculty, five of whom had been denied tenure, and the other two had difficulties with administrative agreements. In all cases, the individual had several initial discussions with the Chair of the Commission about the grievance process, the circumstances of the case, discussions about clarifying the issues that might be grounds for a grievance, and discussions about the procedures for submitting a formal grievance letter. In two tenure cases, the faculty member decided not to pursue a formal grievance after discussion. In three tenure cases, the faculty member has submitted a formal grievance which is undergoing evaluation. In the final 2 cases, the faculty members filed a formal grievance, and resolution was reached with appropriate administration entities.

Respectfully submitted,

James Palmer (Grievance Commission Chair, 2017-2018)